The fourth land or four provinces. The name highlights that Japan consists of 4 main islands: Hokkaidō to the North, Honshū, Kyūshū in the South and Shikoku – embedded even hugged by Honshū and Kyūshū, facing the Pacific Ocean. Shikoku consists of four provinces with a population of around 4.14 Mio (2014, Shikoku Tourism) of which only 200 persons share one square kilometer – where as Tokyo “hosts” around 6000 persons. Speaking of size, Shikoku’s almost as large (small) as Fiji or New Caledonia, measures 225km in length and up to 150km in width and the only main island that does not have any volcanoes.